Penguin Lawn Ornaments

A couple of years ago when Penguin Place found that a company had purchased the defunct Union Products lawn ornament company and was bringing back the 22″ tall plastic penguin lawn ornaments my heart went a waddling.  But,  in this case sentiment got in the way of practicality.  The large size of these penguins made them expensive to ship (both receiving and shipping them).  Shipping companies (UPS, Fed Ex and USPS) were now using much more stringent dimensional weight calculations and the size of these wonderful penguins simply made them to expensive to ship and sadly prohibitive for us to carry them  anymore.  But, last week while shopping with my daughter in downtown Northampton we found a very fun store on Main St. called Faces was offering the very same penguin lawn ornaments and also had a very cool decorative lawn ornament display along the stairs to their ground floor.  Anyway, it brought back penguin lawn ornament memories and we love Faces.

Fun penguin lawn ornaments line the shelves in Faces

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Penguin Lawn Ornaments”

  1. lifeshighway Says:

    I have never had the privilege to see these penguins in a yard here in the southern part of the US. Penguins are not a common item to decorate the lawn and gardens down here.

    They are adorable and oh so very point worthy.

  2. Ryan McCullough Says:

    I am a museum artist. I have made life like life size chin strap penguinss.
    I am in the beginning process of manufacturing them. I’m in Brooklyn NY.
    I’m hoping to have 2000 realistic penguins for sale by March.
    If you would like to see a picture of the original let me know

  3. Cornelius Says:

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you

Leave a Reply

