Penguin Cam : What’s Not To Like?

I’ll be the first to admit it: While working at Penguin Place, either on-line, paying bills, placing orders or packing penguins I either have on NPR, a cd or sports radio, but this past week another sound has enveloped me in my “igloo”.  The ambient cooing and braying of penguins.  As , I too, am mesmerized by the “Penguin Cam.” Earlier this month the Discovery Channel launched this feature to mark the March 18 premiere of its new series Frozen Planet. The camera shows live video from the “Penguin Encounter” exhibit at SeaWorld San Diego as well as the audio. Nothing much happens.  Penguins occasionally waddling around, flapping their wings, looking around, but it’s as soothing and cool looking as the coolest white noise machine ever, and I have it open most of the day.  Every once in a while I’ll open it up and just take a minute and watch the penguins, which is better than any stress ball I’ve ever squeezed.  Because of the cam’s popularity (it’s not just me), a few additional features were just added, including weekly chats with penguin experts (which I really liked the real penguin experts and not actors) and a second penguin cam.  Discovery Channel is also airing live footage from the cams on TV Friday and Saturday at 9 a.m. ET that will include tweets from fans. When it comes to the Penguin Cam, try it, you’ll like it.

Penguin Cam. I'm hooked.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

